Jazz trios abound, and this trio of Dana Fitzsimons (drums), Bill Graham (piano) and Brandon Boone (bass) is no exception. During the day, leader Dana is a lawyer, and here he works with 2 musicians from Atlanta.

In 2017 he already released 'Cheap Ensemble'. The style that Dana chose for this album is free jazz. That's not really my thing right now, because I don't like improvisations much.

Dana said: “The music we wanted to make requires a lot of close listening and allowing the music to take you wherever it wants to go, untethered from strict ideas about time, form, and harmony. With all this freedom, it was important to me that the music still be rhythmic and lyrical so that the music invites the listener in, even for those who are not accustomed to free jazz.”

Graham composed 6 of 11 tracks, and they open up tempo with 'Slant Anagrams'. This track reminds me of Chick Corea, followed by 'Agitation Lullaby'. This song co-wrote Dana with saxophonist Chris Otts, and it reminds him of the time when his wife sang to their children while he was going through a stressful period.

'Crystals' is free jazz in which the 3 band members improvise considerably. 'Ice Bridges Before Road' can be described as an impressionistic ballad, while 'Borders' has a more cinematic feel. 'Number Six' is the next track, followed by a cover of Rodgers & Harts 'Where or When'. However, the trio chose to perform it as a ballad.

A bass solo forms the start of 'It Should Have Happened A Long Time Ago', after which 'Weeble Wobbles', named after a toy that can't fall over, comes across as haunted. 'Intersections' is once again pure free jazz, after which 'Amelia' closes with a cover of a song by Joni Mitchell.

An album for those who love Chick Corea, Keith Jarrett, Paul Motian and the ECM sound.



Dana Fitzsimons


1.Slant Anagrams
2. Agitation Lullaby
3. Crystals
4. Ice Bridges Before Road
5. Borders
6. Number Six
7. Where or When
8. It Should’ve Happened a Long Time Ago
9. Weeble Wobbles
10. Intersections