Two years ago I reviewed the debut 'That's It' by our Northerner neighbor Lou Guldemond, which actually dated back to 2012. You can best describe his guitar playing as smooth pop jazz.

Lou was mainly influenced by Lee Ritenour and Al McKay. Now his second album has been released, for which he composed all the tracks himself and provided the arrangements.

Arjen Mooijer (keyboards), Boudewijn Lucas (bass), Rolf Delfos (sax), Karel Boehlee (piano), Jel Jongen (trumpet & trombone), Jim Guldemond (guitar) and Michel van Schie (programming drums) assist him on this album.

The title track immediately showcases an upbeat smooth jazz sound, followed by 'Time Flies' which charts the passage of time in a pleasant and relaxed manner. Then we go on the Latin tour with 'La conexión', followed by the quiet ballad 'Three of a Kind'.

With 'It's about Time' we get into upbeat, rhythmic music that is very danceable. Brazilian samba comes into play in 'Na praia', after which 'Slow Fuss' is rather calm in a jazz funk way. And with 'Long Island', we hop over to New York for a moment, in a mid-tempo. Kind of Blues' doesn't sound bluesy at all, but rather like jazz funk. And 'Mind Your Step' closes in a relaxed atmosphere that sounds melodic.

There is no doubt that Lou has once again created a pleasant and beautiful album. Fans of jazzy guitar music, like me, will certainly enjoy this. And I definitely want more of this Lou!



Lou Guldemond


1) In Time (5:28)
2) Time Flies (4:52)
3) La Conexion (4:46)
4) Three of a Kind (4:25)
5) It's About Time (4:09)
6) Na Praia (4:05)
7) Slow Fuss (4:44)
8) Long Island (3:52)
9) Kind of Blues (5:39)
10) Mind Your Step (4:50)


Copied from Cultuurmania with permission of the author.