A musician who plays various wind instruments, Scott Silbert was born in Philadelphia, PA and was the arranger for the US Navy Band. He retired in January 2017. He has been playing music since his family moved to Orlando, Florida and worked as a musician for 9 years at Walt Disney World.

In 1991 he joined The Navy Commodores on baritone sax. He currently plays sax with the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra, where he is also the arranger.

Scott has performed or recorded with National Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony, Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra, W.C. Handy Jazz Festival, Elkhart Jazz Festival, Natalie Cole, Kurt Elling, Stanley Turrentine, Rosemary Clooney, Bob Hope, Howard University, Red Skelton, Quincy Jones, The Smothers Brothers, Vanessa Williams, Terry Gibbs, Michael Buble, Josh Groban, Scott Hamilton
, Chris Botti, Wayne Brady, Gloria Estefan, Johnny Mathis, The 5th Dimension, James Taylor, Stevie Wonder, Eddie Daniels, Michael Feinstein, Take 6, John Pizzarelli, Bill Crow, Lew Tabackin, Phil Woods, Hubert Laws, Christine Ebersole.

In addition, Scott now also serves as bandleader, and this is his debut with the Scott Silbert Big Band.

The new CD contains lesser-known big band works from the 1930s and 1940s. The title track already clearly shows what you can expect. Swinging big band jazz from days gone by. Sometimes sung, sometimes instrumental. 'In A Persian Market' looks familiar to me, as does the closing track 'Stompin' At The Savoy'.

A real “return trip” in time, which I recommend to fans of big band music and nostalgic souls!



Scott Silbert


Jump Children
Annie Laurie
In A Persian Market
Jumpin’ Punkins
Tootsie’s Rag
I Want A Roof (Over My Head)
Lullaby In Rhythm
11:60 P.M.
Down For Double
Shipyard Ramble
She’s Crazy With The Heat
Stompin’ At The Savoy


Scott Silbert - tenor sax
Charlie Young - alto sax
Antonio Parker - alto sax
Grant Langford -tenor sax
Leigh Pilzer - baritone sax

Liesl Whitaker - lead trumpet
Joshua Kauffman – trumpet
Chris Walker – trumpet

Dave Perkel – trombone
Jen Krupa – trombone
Kirsten Warfield – trombone

Rhythm Section:
Tony Nalker – piano
Craig Gildner – guitar
Amy Shook – bass
Ken Kimery – drums

Gretchen Midgley
Scott Silbert