Duke City, New Mexico native Ray Anthony founded the project Powerslyde in 2007. The debut album is entitled Have Fun (2017). Ray Anthony performs on this album trombone, piano, keyboards, vocals, Ken Mathis drums, Enrique Mendoza guitars and Steve Oliver  guitar, bass, keyboards, vocals.

All music was written & produced by Ray Anthony and Steve Oliver. Lead instrument of this album is the trombone comparable in style with artists like Jeff Bradshaw, Buff Dillard, Brian Culbertson, Trombone Shorty or Steve Baxter. Mr. Sauce brings this dominant instrument to full advantage. The arrangement is tighter than tight and the eclectic flow is spot on.

Do 4 U offers a compact melody with a strong dynamic even hypnotic twist. After a short piano introduction Ray Anthony turns on the slide again. Night Abraxas intermingles vigorous brass with fine tuned piano. Slydeways reveals a deep unbinding love for harmony and the melody has that catchy something.

R a Chill rides the groove for all its worth. The first track where the keys are in the frontline. When special joy for life is expressed in notes, then Have Fun embraces everything what joie de vivre can be. B Wit' Cha allures with layers of harmonic texture in an intimate dialogue of trombone and guitar.

Gasoline Alley Funk serves a blast from the past with a sonic fire power. Funky as funk can be. Final tunes are Look'n' Good Tonight in a vocal and instrumental version. A splash of disco fever with R&B flavor.

Ray Anthony & Powerslyde write with Have Fun the E in entertainment great again. A fresh wind of newcomers impressing even the old hands.







Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Have Fun
Artist: Ray Anthony & Powerslyde
Year: 2017
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: Independent

1 Mr. Sauce 3:29
2 Do 4 U 4:52
3 Night Abraxas 4:34
4 Slydeways 4:05
5 R a Chill 4:10
6 Have Fun 4:41
7 B Wit' Cha 4:11
8 Gasoline Alley Funk 4:41
9 Look'n' Good Tonight (Vocal Version) 3:39
10 Look'n' Good Tonight 3:41