After their self titled debut album (2006), and follow-ups Music Speaks Louder Than Words (2008), Driftin' (2011) and Colortones (2015) Danish group Jamhunters are back with Nightclub (2017).

Supportive members of the new project are the musicians Christina Boelskifte (vocals), Klaus Menzer (drums), and Peter Hansen (bass). All tunes are composed, arranged and produced by the creative duo Lars Fabiansen (guitars) and Peter Michael (grand piano).

Jamhunters introduce into the album with Welcome to the Nightclub, an atmospheric prologue. The Palm Tree - Part II ties up to Under The Palmtree from the album Driftin' with a contemplative jazz excursion. A more eclectic approach compared to the mainstream of the original.

Practice is essential for every musician to achieve routine and mastery. Based on the concrete piece, the playful progress of all musicians involved is reflected in the laid-back performance. The organic voice of Christina Boelskifte on Morning Song allures with sweetness and is impressively embedded in the lyrical play of the group.

The 3rd Gate presents an intimate swing session with a wonderful acoustic attitude. Peter Hansen on upright bass and Klaus Menzer with brushes on snare drum underline Lars Fabiansen's superb guitar performance. Around a Roundabout is inspired by The Doors hit Riders On The Storm and Herbie Hancock's Cantaloupe Island mixed with jazzy craftsmanship and a big potion of elegance.

In a Lifetime shines with an infectious and captivating spirit inflamed by jazz vocalist Christina Boelskifte. The aptly titled Slow Motion heightens the perception of the otherwise unheard sweet soft undertones. Close to Your Eyes swings in the style of Joe Pass. Lars Fabiansen is incredibly lyrical in his chord phrasing and Peter Michael has the ultimate piano touch. Together they are transcending from swing to bebop.

Compared to their previous releases Jamhunters have decided to walk with Nightclub the jazz line. Keeping jazz alive is the cornerstone of this release, a new face of this multifaceted group.





Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Nightclub
Artist: Jamhunters
Year: 2017
Genre: Smooth Jazz
Label: JamHouse

1 Welcome to the Nightclub 0:36
2 The Palm Tree - Part II 3:52
3 Practice  4:05
4 Morning Song  3:37
5 The 3rd Gate 3:47
6 Around a Roundabout  4:20
7 In a Lifetime 4:49
8 Slow Motion 4:10
9 Close to Your Eyes 5:24

Further reviews:

Music Speaks Louder Than Words