First View


Joe McBride has a special connection to Texas. One can call him a Texas fan. He came first time in contact to Dallas by visiting the jazz club scene in 1985. After graduating from NTS, where he first met Dave Love founder of Heads Up Records, he stayed and joined the scene. McBride was first heard on fellow Heads Up artist Kenny Blake's debut "Interior Designs" (1991). He started his cooperation with Heads Up Records releasing Grace (1992), A Gift For Tomorrow (1994), Keys To Your Heart (1996), Double Take (1998), Texas Rhythm Club (2000) and Keepin' It Real (2002). 

His new album Texas Hold'em will finally be released in September 2005. Joe McBride recorded this album with those musicians best-known as "The Texas Rhythm Club": Wayne DeLano (sax), Dave von Blohn (flugel horn & trumpet), Larry Spencer (muted trumpet on One Eyed Jack), Todd Parsnow (guitar), Martin Walters (electric bass, guitar), John Adams (upright bass) and Dennis Durick (drums). "This band is killin'," says McBride. "I've played with these guys for over a decade."

Texas Hold'Em is certainly the most popular art of playing Poker. Instead of other Poker games like Omaha High or 7 card stud which entail a great many more possibilities for calculating odds and perhaps even trying to count cards, Texas Hold'Em can be learned in a few minutes by anyone, and you can be playing fairly well with a few hours practice. But don't let us speak about the card game, let's comment his new album.

In the booklet is nothing to find about drum programming but after the first tones of Big Slick one can hear the familiar drum loops we can experience on Joe's previous releases. Joe plays the piano keys with ease and dash. 

Honestly said I would never expect to find on a smooth jazz album a piece like In A Garden Of Eden "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida". This tune was composed by vocalist and organist Doug Ingle a member of the group Iron Butterfly in 1968. While the original is psychedelic and with over 17 minutes endless Joe's cover is significantly shorter and more up-spirit.

When you are playing blackjack one of the most favorable situations arises when you have the opportunity to double down. When you double down you are allowed to double your bet after receiving your first two cards. Double Down is a superb radio-like epitome of this gamers situation.

On Texas Hold'em Joe slows down the tempo in a relaxing way. Awesome the echoing of the melody between his piano and Wayne DeLano's sax. 

Joe McBride can sing. Needs it any evidentiary, so take Giving It All To You. And when George Benson hums with his guitar Joe does it with his piano.

In & Out is a good reason to cast the limelight on The Texas Rhythm Club. It's a real enjoyment to listen to the musical interactions of all artists. I like especially the guitar intro by Todd Parsnow.

Joe McBride has a great ability to build up a theme from a simple melody to a sophisticated arrangement as to hear on No Limit.

The second vocal song is I'm Here For You featuring anew Joe's remarkable voice. Nicely contrasts his slow recital with Dennis Durick's uptempo jazz brushes and John Adams' upright bass. Above all Wayne DeLano's sax improvisations, an invitation for Joe's scat.

All In incorporates all necessary ingredients for a smashing smooth jazz hit: funky guitar licks, Joe's tickling piano and a powerful rhythm.

Joe reveals anew his musical art of seduction on The river. The horn arrangement is unpretentious but convenient.

One Eyed Jack is one of those tunes which could be played in a smoky jazz club. Larry Spencer's muted trumpet certainly provokes this deliberate impression.

Joe makes it clear. Playing cards and music has parallels: Both is a great amusement. Thanks for sharing it with us.




  • Bio
  • Label
  • Title: Texas Hold'Em
    Artist: Joe McBride
    Year: 2005
    Length: 0:52:30
    Genre: Smooth Jazz
    Label: Heads Up Records


    01 Big Slick [4:21]
    02 In A Garden Of Eden "In-A-Gadda-Da-Vida" [3:43]
    03 Double Down [5:03]
    04 Texas Hold'em [5:08]
    05 Giving It All To You [4:49]
    06 In & Out [4:53]
    07 No Limit [4:54]
    08 I'm Here For You [5:03]
    09 All In [4:24]
    10 The River [4:56]
    11 One Eyed Jack [5:14]