Darren Motamedy




Relax Your Mind

The Smooth Jazz genre is certainly a domain of saxophonists. No others genre has such a huge amount of great artists like Grover Washington jr., Najee, Richard Elliot, Eric Marienthal, David Sanborn, Nelson Rangell, Kenny G, Walter Beasley, Gerald Albright, Kirk Whalum, Dave McMurray, Art Porter, Lincoln Adler, Kenny Blake and many many more.

Gerald Albright, one of the most known saxophonists worldwide, writes in the FAQ of his new website www.geraldalbright.com: "I also believe that one should strive for uniqueness in their sound." Well, Darren Motamedy is such a saxophonist, who has developed his typical style making his sound unique and distinguishable from other artists. 

Darren 's new album Relax Your Mind is a worthy representative of the Smooth Jazz genre. Full of hooking melodies you will keep this album in mind. You might only complain about its short playtime of 38:34. But be aware that there is no blunder.

The album starts with a countdown to the brilliant Big Guppy. A dynamic uptempo thriller with Darren's fresh blow and Eugene Bien's perfect piano solo play. The positive effect of this good-tempered piece will stay the whole album.

On Jazz Bones Darren takes a more jazzy and funky ride with some improvisations. The drive of the song Shake of the Gap Band comes in mind.

Good Ta' See Ya' features Michael Eads on guitar and Darren's sensitive sax play.

With Manessah Darren will reach women's hearts with a romantic touch. Even on slow tunes like this one he showcases a sensitive moody tone.

The title tune Relax Your Mind shows an epic panaroma with strings and brass. The tune tells us a story in the manner of Pat Metheny 's music. Darren pulls all the stops of his skills.

Everyone will know the Beatles tune Yesterday. Very unusual is Darren's approach to this song in a slow reggae version. The tune features Allen Tunson pronounced voice.

The World Is A Ghetto is a cover version of the famous tune, which was first produced by the group War in 1972 on the WEA/Rhino label. Darren reaches the tight mood of the original, although the original has in his extensive length of more than 10 minutes a special unbeatable live atmosphere.

Baby Blues is a jamming grooving piece backed by dynamic rimshots. Darren's blowing sax, a whirling hammond B3 and a screaming guitar are kicking to the top.

A short reprise of Relax Your Mind guides to The Best of Taste aka St. Michelle. Very uptempo with rocking guitars this tune would get a place on every rock album.

Big Guppy Reprise finalizes this fantastic album with a mighty beat. Darren Motamedy illustrates with his new album, that Smooth Jazz doesn't mean a smooth out, but can be fresh and convincing.




 The musicians

  • Darren Motamedy - Saxes, Synth Programming
  • Eugene Bien - Piano (1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11)
  • Paul Richardson - Piano (2, 7), Vocals (9)
  • Charles Jones - Guitar (2, 7)
  • Douglas Barnett - Bass (2, 3 and 8)
  • Patrick McDanel - Bass (6)
  • Michael Eads - Guitar (3, 10)
  • Mark Arrington - Drums (3, 5, 6, 9, 10)
  • Phil Christian - Percussion (3, 5, 8)
  • Chad Quist - Guitar (4, 8)
  • John Raymond - Bass (7, 10), Guitar (5, 10). Drum Programming (4, 6)
  • Bobby Medina -Trumpet (5)
  • Darnell Alexander - Vocals (7)
  • Allen Tunson - Vocals (6)