Hailing from Panama City, Florida saxophonist Chris Godber has already four solo albums to his discography. He started his career with Will You Be Mine? (2007) followed by One Breath At A Time (2009), My Offering (2011) and this year Where Are You CHRISTmas.

On his albums he performs soprano, alto and tenor saxophones in addition to the piano, keyboards, and acoustic guitar, drum programming and what you heard toting up.

What Child Is This, a popular Christmas carol written in 1865, starts the album emotionally interpreted by Godber.  Since Bill Crosby's version I'll Be Home For Christmas became a holiday musical tradition in the United States. Chris continues this practice with his very own interpretations on soprano sax and piano.

The uplifting I Love Christmas features  Lowell Hopper, soulful guitarist from Panama City, Florida. Delightful is the interplay between saxophone and chimes. Lowell has his place on the second part of the song. Let It Snow,  a song written by lyricist Sammy Cahn and composer Jule Styne in July 1945, is nicely covered. Only the brass insertion is somewhat incongruous.

The Christmas carol Angels We Heave Heard On High is recorded in a traditional way. The Christmas Song presents heartfelt singer Dony Adair sharing the song with saxophonist Chris Godber. A sentimental song softly melting like chocolate ice cream.

Where Are You Christmas known by country singer Faith Hill is reacted cautiously by Chris Godber on soprano sax. Mary Did You Know impresses with its finely chiseled implementation by acoustic guitar and soprano sax.

The traditional classical English carol The First Noel is spiced with a modern rhythm. In contrast to the previous music songs Chris ventures with Feliz Navidad into the zone of Latin Jazz presenting a heightened sense of well-being.

Chris Godber offers with Where Are You Christmas an album of Christmas song in a more traditional way. This album is for those who want to hear no discord in the gift giving special.






Buy the album in all stores

Album Information

Title: Where Are You Christmas
Artist: Chris Godber
Year: 2013
Length: 0:44:17
Genre: General Jazz


01 What Child Is This [3:39]
02 I'll Be Home For Christmas [4:50]
03 I Love Christmas [4:52]
04 Let It Snow [4:06]
05 Angels We Heave Heard On High [5:02]
06 The Christmas Song [5:01]
07 Where Are You Christmas [3:55]
08 Mary Did You Know [4:56]
09 The First Noel [3:45]
10 Feliz Navidad [4:10]