Danny Lerman - Meow Baby


Danny Lerman's debut album Danny's Island (1998) with guest-musicians like Fareed Haque, David Garfield or Dave Valentin made waves in the smooth jazz market and reached the top 20 on the Contemporary Jazz R&R chart. Since his last album release, Lerman traveled and performed throughout the world, including visits to Turkey, Israel, South Africa, Holland, Venezuela and Mexico.

After a long hiatus of 10 years Danny returns with his sophomore album Meow Baby, scheduled for release February 26th, 2008. The album title is taken from a line uttered by Tootsie-Pop-actor Telly Savalas in an episode of Kojak. Danny offers 15 (!) songs on his new album, 12 co-written by Danny, two covers and the re-issue of You Take My Breath Away from his first album as bonus track. This album is fully loaded with notorious guest musicians such as Randy Brecker, Hubert Laws, Howard Hewett, Paul Jackson Jr., Bobby Lyle, Munyungo Jackson and many more. Such a quality is a recipe for success. Just spread the word.

Meow Baby opens the album with Danny's thrilling sax melody. The tune is filled with Munyungo's propelling percussion and a blasting horn arrangement of Keyle Newmaster (trumpet) and Matt Franks (trombone).

If you ever need an expression of relaxation, listen to Summer In A Hummer, the right remedy for everybody under stress. Guitarist Ron DeJesus has the perfect answer to Danny's sax. Ron has recently released the CD Grooove Vol.1 in cooperation with drummer Tal Bergman. Tal did most of the arrangements, programming and the drum parts on Danny's album.

No Ordinary Love was originally recorded by singer legend Sade for her fourth album Love Deluxe (2000). Sade is still the ultimate icon of smooth jazz. Kenya Hathaway lends her vocals to Danny's sultry contemporary version. She has the pure and fresh voice to be a worthy successor on Sade's path.

Written by John Lennon and interpreted by Howard Hewett the song Imagine combines two great personalities. Hewett is one of the R&B singers who has the ability to sing jazz, shown in the past on albums of George Duke and Stanley Clarke. By the way Heads Up International recording artist Bobby Lyle is performing on both covers the keys.

Danny's soothing soprano sax whispers along The First Time, perfectly supported by Fred Kron on keys. Currently Fred's music can be heard across the television airwaves from FOX, CBS, and NBC, to CNN and everything in between.

The slow ballade No Words reveals the romantic side of Danny's musical world. With South Beach Serenata Danny shows his affinity for Latin sounds. Very authentic in the Latin sense the horn section of  Newmaster/Franks. The icing on the cake is flute master Hubert Laws' brilliant performance.

Gotcha! sounds radio-like and indeed this tune is burning the radio-stations from Nashville to Las Vegas. David Benoit created his musical legend as composer of the Peanuts themes. Danny adds his own accent with Snoopy's Dance.

Guitarist Tim Kobza plays a solo on Saxsultan. He is an established Rock and Jazz artist, a studio player and sideman, playing music all over the world, who not only plays a wide variety of styles on guitar, but also produces, composes, and is a part time instructor at USC.

Some flavor of Mozart can you smell on Amadeus' Kiss. Christian Howes on violin initiates the homage to Amadeus. Howes, originally from Columbus, Ohio, has garnered international renown over the past 10 years while touring the Midwest regularly, often featuring special guests such as Rez Abassi (NYC), Federico Lechner (Madrid), D.D. Jackson, and others.

Don't GoGo There is featuring Randy Brecker on trumpet. Randy uncompromisingly gives this tune a real contemporary jazz authenticity. If Only is the smooth heartfelt counterpart.

The album finishes with You Take My Breath Away as bonus track taken from his debut album Danny's Island featuring the singer Danny Lerman. He reminds me of the young Babyface.

With Meow Baby Danny Lerman will establish his status as an accomplished sax player and composer in the smooth jazz genre.





  • Danny Lerman - Website
  • Bio
  • Buy the album at
    • all stores


  • Title: Meow Baby
    Artist: Danny Lerman
    Year: 2007
    Length: 1:04:08
    Genre: Smooth Jazz
    Label: Sugar Whiskey Records/EMI


    01 Meow Baby [3:51]
    02 Summer In A Hummer [3:43]
    03 No Ordinary Love [4:39]
    04 Imagine (Featuring Howard Hewett) [4:26]
    05 The First Time [4:38]
    06 No Words [3:39]
    07 South Beach Serenata (Featuring Hubert Laws) [4:04]
    08 Gotcha! [4:42]
    09 Snoopy's Dance [4:07]
    10 Saxsultan [3:50]
    11 Amadeus' Kiss [4:18]
    12 Don't GoGo There (Featuring Randy Brecker) [6:02]
    13 Baby Goes To Market [4:07]
    14 If Only [3:29]
    15 You Take My Breath Away [4:33]