Saxophonist Mike MacArthur from Tampa, Florida worked and toured with Maynard Ferguson and Diane Schuur. He also has connections to smooth jazz musicians like Rick Braun, Brian Bromberg, Jeff Golub, Roger Waters, Franki Valli, Peter White, Craig Chaquico, Rick Derringer, Chieli Minucci and Jeff Kashiwa.

After his albums Paradise Point (2000), Deal Me In (2002), That’s What I’m Talkin’ ‘Bout (2006), Live ‘N Kickin’ (2009) he returns with his fifth solo album Feels Like Home (2013). Produced by bassist Brian Bromberg Mike shared the recordings with Alex Acuna (percussion), Ron Reinhardt (piano/B3 organ), Gannin Arnold (guitar), Frank “Third” Richardson (drums), and vocalists Janelle Sadler and Alva Copeland. The album also features guest musicians like Rick Braun, Jeff Lorber, Jeff Golub and more.

The album starts in full swing with Filthy McNasty. Horace Silver would like this fine rendition. The band continues this style celebrating Joe Zawinul's Birdland. With Sanctified MacArthur delivers a glowing contemporary composition under the aforementioned musicians' full participation. Feels Like Home is Mike's musical statement, where he stands now.

Around the Corner features the blind guitarist Jeff Golub who hasn't lost anything of his divine prowess. Sax player Mike also shares his talent with the blessed bassist Brian Bromberg. Miles Davis composed the piece Jean Pierre. The track is named after the son of Miles Davis' first wife. With the support of Jeff Lorber and Brian Bromberg Mike cherichs Miles' work.

After Mike's conception Sydney Style is a fast energetic jazz piece with enough room for extensive solos. Followed by a perceptive reflection of Sonny Rollins' Blue Seven. The greatest respect for Duke Ellington's work is mirrored in Mike's interpretation of In a Sentimental Mood. Final song is a rendition of William Lee's Mo Better Blues. A jazzier approach than the original movie track.

Mike MacArthur's Feel Like Home is the result of passion for jazz. Here, the reference to  known songs is greater than the desire for own compositions.







Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Feels Like Home
Artist: Mike Macarthur
Year: 2013
Length: 0:56:00
Genre: General Jazz
Label: CDBaby


01 Filthy McNasty (Featuring Rick Braun & Jeff Lorber) [4:05]
02 Birdland [6:20]
03 Sanctified (Featuring Rick Braun, Jeff Lorber & Alex Acuna) [6:02]
04 Feels Like Home [4:45]
05 Around the Corner (Featuring Jeff Golub) [5:26]
06 Jean Pierre (Featuring Jeff Lorber & Brian Bromberg) [6:25]
07 Sydney Style (Featuring Jeff Lorber) [4:47]
08 Blue Seven (Featuring Jeff Lorber) [6:45]
09 In a Sentimental Mood [5:29]
10 Mo Better Blues (Featuring Rick Braun) [5:57]