Dave Sereny - Take This Ride


Dave Sereny crossed my way first time with his fantastic collection Jazz Room (2004),  a five-CD series (Latin Jazz, Classic Jazz, Vocal Jazz, Jazz Sampler, Smooth Jazz). This collection was released by Dave Sereny's label Groove United which was established by Dave and his brother Mike Sereny in 1996. I had the opportunity and pleasure to review these recordings in the past.

Toronto based Sereny was a multiple nominee at the 2006 Canadian Smooth Jazz Awards. The Canadians really support their musicians. He performed with jazz and rock greats such as Kenwood Denar, Ritchie Cole, Jose Feliciano, Alex Lifeson of Rush, Rex Smith and Mark Whitfield.

The album starts with a cover of Give It To Me Baby. This essential classic Funk song was one of the greatest hits Rick James had and was originally released on his million-selling album Street Songs (1981). Dave's interpretation is elegant and smoothes out the vicious guitar tone of the original still keeping it cool and vibrant.

Funkified is a creation of Darren Rahn, that means he has written the song, made the awesome horn arrangement and also played the additional wah guitar. Darren has just released his sax album Once In A Lifetime (2005). Funk is en vogue now and this track brings it on the top. Darren is also known for his fantastic remakes of classics for Wayman Tisdale.

Do For Love was penned by Dave. Chicago native Lemoyne Alexander levels the tune up to a seductive modern song with the soulful vocals of Canadian / Hungarian song bird Delilah and his special keyboard loops.

The song Take This Ride is featuring N'Dea Davenport and Ladybug Mecca. N'Dea is a singer best known for her role in the Brand New Heavies, a British funk/R&B band, a group responsible for the Acid Jazz wave in the early 90s. Ladybug Mecca is known by her rap work with Digable Planet. Two power women and Dave's dream guitar revives the Acid Jazz wave.

On Fly Away Dave's elder brother Mike adds roaring organ grooves to Dave's eclectic guitar sound while Delilah waves in her beautiful siren vocals. Delilah came in contact with Dave by her brother Paul Lakatos, a guitar virtuoso, who is performing in Toronto's jazz clubs.

Lucy is featuring jazz legend Bob James on piano. Written by Omar Edwards, who performs synth and keys on this tune, this tune needs some second spins to develop in your mind.

Bass player Nathan Watts wrote Keep Goin'. He is Stevie Wonder's bassist since 33 years and played on most of Stevie's albums since 1975. His goal is to finally put out a solo CD; it will be a combination of vocal tunes and bass-heavy instrumentals. Keep this tune in mind and you can await a really good album.

On This Time audience can listen to the signature bass sound of Wayman Tisdale. Wayman plays a melodic bass accompanying Dave's guitar journey in his own style.

St. Tropez is a chic city in southern France, located on the French Riviera. Popular for its famous and wealthy guests, it is often called the Marbella of France. Dave perfectly catches the glamour of this town in his song.

Luxury of Love is featuring the lucid sax of Warren Hill. Lucubration and melody or improvisation and chaos that are the poles between which musicians are drawn. This song is certainly placed at the pole of melody, mellow and smooth like a lullaby.

Victor George Street was written by Dave under the influence of George Benson, the lead melody of the song has this classic attraction which tickles my brain activity.

Closer of this album is the seductive Blueberry Groove. Dave has a talent for hooking melodies. With keyboardist Lemoyne Alexander on his side it's easy to translate notes in action.

Dave Sereny's new album Take This Ride is a gem for all smooth jazz lovers.




  • Dave Sereny - Website
  • Bio
  • Buy the album at
    • CDUniverse


  • Title: Take This Ride
    Artist: Dave Sereny
    Year: 2007
    Length: 0:49:05
    Genre: General Jazz
    Label: nuGroove Records

    01 Give It To Me Baby [3:55]
    02 Funkified [3:57]
    03 Do For Love [4:16]
    04 Take This Ride [3:38]
    05 Fly Away [5:11]
    06 Lucy Ft Bob James [3:21]
    07 Keep Goin' [3:44]
    08 This Time [3:09]
    09 St Tropez [4:45]
    10 Luxury Of Love [4:57]
    11 Victor George Street [4:12]
    12 Blueberry Groove [4:03]