J. Thompson  - Inside World


The San Francisco Bay Area guitarist J. Thompson is since a long time in music business. A professional musician since the age of 16, Thompson's expertise on guitar, bass and drums has led him to participate in a wide range of projects throughout his career. Earlier in his career as a session bassist, Thompson worked with producers Jim Gains and Allen Toussaint. Outside of the studio, Thompson played bass with the Jorge Santana band in the late 70's and 80's and with the Pablo Cruise band in the 90's, among many others. 

Thompson moved into the adult contemporary world in 1989 with his hit album, "Tell Me Tell Me." That album was followed by  "Romantic Night" in 2003. Musicians on his new project "Inside World (2006) are J.Thompson (guitars and bass), keyboardist and producer Peter Horvath, on drums from Chicago, Oscar Seaton, percussionist Luis Conte, guest appearance by Norton Buffalo on three of the original compositions, on the last "rock anthem" track ONE-DAY, Tim Gorman on organ, and the legendary John Blakeley on Mandolin and acoustic Guitar.

Marché Marché
is one of these tunes which are motivating for further activities. The tune has a hooking melody arranged in a accessible instrumental environment. The melody line is simple and is often repeated resulting a certain headbopping effect.

J. Thompson uses the same structure of melody on the following track Tale Of Tiernan. He throws in some notes to allure the audience.

This guitarist is a musician with a great talent for song writing. You recognize it by Smile For Me. A further guitar tune with a remarkable melody.

Dreamer is what the title says. A smooth romantic piece for dreaming on. Peter Horvath adds a sparkling piano line. Gavin says about him: "Peter's brand of piano soul is light, accessible and glistening with chrome-plated funk chord changes." Peter's music is also to find on many albums of the Braxton Brothers.

Ciny In The City is featuring Norton Buffalo on harmonica. He is regarded as one of the most versatile and talented harmonica players in the music business. Most will know him as a highly celebrated member of the Steve Miller Band. The tune has a jazzy appeal.

J. Thompson is also an excellent singer. Inside World is a fantastic song in the tradition of singers like Stevie Winwood, Climie & Fisher or Steve Miller. Did I say he is a great song writer?

So Sexy is the opportunity to mention that J. Thompson doesn't make the mistake to use drum programming. Instead he is supported by two of the most prominent rhythm experts: Oscar Seaton on drums and Luis Conte on percussion. So Sexy has the flair of a good oldie of the seventies.

Gimmie Sum is a funky tune with a melodic bridge. Pick Up The Pieces comes into mind. Shake your bootie. Brilliant guitar play.

The Shake is Norton Buffalo 's second appearance. J. Thompson lets his distortion guitar cry. Mercy!

On Everything To Me Norton Buffalo reveals more of his world class.

One Day is the final tune and J. Thompson's promise to return soon with new music of finest quality.

Inside World is an album of a matured musician with great experience as performer, arranger and song writer. A gemm for all fans of good guitar music.




  • Bio


  • J. Thompson - Homepage


  • Buy the album at


  • Title: Inside World
    Artist: J*Thompson
    Year: 2006
    Length: 0:52:33
    Genre: Smooth Jazz
    Label: AMH Records

    01 Marché Marché [3:59]
    02 Tale Of Tiernan [4:07]
    03 Smile For Me [4:15]
    04 Dreamer [4:21]
    05 Cincy In The City [3:57]
    06 Inside World [6:49]
    07 So Sexy [5:27]
    08 Gimmie Sum [4:05]
    09 The Shake [5:05]
    10 Everything To Me [4:42]
    11 One Day [5:46]