Thomas James Ackley aka Tomazz started his musical activity as recording engineer in the Philadelphia area. Boyz to Men and Grover Washington, Jr. counted to his clients. After his move to New York he worked at the famous Hit Factory Studios for artists including Celine Dion and Will Smith.

Since 2007 he releases solo projects like Orient Bay (2007),  Chronicles (2008), Lucid Dream (2010) and Thinking About You (2010). His newest album is Winter Chill (2012), currently only available as download.

His album Lucid Dream received a rave review by smooth jazz ride author Ronald Jackson and Winter Chill is a keeper too. The album is like its predecessors very synth-oriented. Tomazz has written and recorded all tracks.

On Jack Boogie Tomazz intertwines relaxed piano lines with harmonic synth cords.  He interprets even romantic themes like Love Will Wait For You in mid-tempo structures influenced by Paul Hardcastle.

Tomazz comments the title song: "Winter Chill was produced in the style of Chris Botti. Very moody and romantic." With soft attitude he adjusts his vocal interpretation to the aerial performance. Starting with the right groove Coast To Coast does not take much more than a mellow synchronization.

Tomazz composed Make It A Sunny Day some years ago. He explains: "I never finished it. So I put some lyrics down and produced it with a kind of retro feel almost Phil Collins sound." After the piano intro he expands his vocal excursion wonderfully framed by top synth sounds.

Tomazz regards Albatross as a progressive jazz or fusion piece. His onomatopoetically description of an albatross' flight seems more like a movie score. Comfort My Heart gives you time for dream, a fine melody for the hours of dusk. On Majestic Moon Tomazz chose a more orchestral approach.

With Can't Stop The Beat he pushed the entertaining aspect with a glimpse to Funky town. Tomazz' knowledge of fine nuances on Cup Of Soul is remarkable. He lets the song blossom like a wonderful flower. On The Road this outstanding musician showcases his impressive skills in orchestral composition.

Winter Chill is certainly among the smooth jazz releases a particularly successful example of a highly efficient and appealing production.






Buy the album

Album Information

Title: Winter Chill
Artist: Tomazz
Year: 2012
Length: 0:46:45
Genre: Smooth Jazz


01 Jack Boogie [4:26]
02 Love Will Wait For You [3:52]
03 Winter Chill [3:59]
04 Coast To Coast [3:51]
05 Make It A Sunny Day [4:22]
06 Albatross [6:09]
07 Comfort My Heart [5:40]
08 Majestic Moon [3:45]
09 Can't Stop The Beat [3:07]
10 Cup Of Soul [4:20]
11 Prelude To The Road [0:22]
12 The Road [2:51]